Campaign- Learning Disability of Dyslexia

Ideas

Going into the project of campaigning, I was put in to a group with Dan Butler and Ben Griffiths. We have been told to choose a campaign that we will be exhibiting in a few weeks. We were shown some examples of campaigns for things such as child abuse, environment, clothing lines and others. We got together and started putting down what campaign ideas we could base our project around.

  • Child abuse.
  • Immigration or refugee mistreatment.
  • Drunk driving awareness.
  • The Gaza Strip conflict.
  • Police brutality.
  • Drug abuse.
  • The funding of art within schools.
  • Dementia awareness.
  • Road safety.
  • Smoking.
  • Learning disabilities.

Considering all these outcomes I had mentioned that maybe we should drift away from the well known campaigns such as the child abuse, drinking driving and refugee campaigns and go towards something more different. I had a thought that it would be good to do the learning disability based on dyslexia. Dyslexia is a common learning difficulty that can cause problems with reading, writing, numbers and spelling. Not many people are aware that they could be struggling with the disability and that there are ways to get help. From there we thrived making notes and mood boards to get a rough idea of how we can work with this idea.


Here are my notes that I was using to put my ideas down. I was trying to think from angles of how dyslexia can be helped, what forms can we design it like and also the terminology of it. We’ve decided as a team to go from the approach of how dyslexic people read text, sometimes they cant read it in the correct colour so they’ll need an overlay or sometimes they find that the words move.

One artist that I found was helpful to look into, was one of my personal favourite Typographic artist Sean Freeman.

SEAN FREEMAN

Sean Freeman is a Typographic Designer that has designed for many famous labels such as Nike, The National, Citroen, Wired magazines and more.


He’s one of my most talented, favourite artists. He works from a very unique perspective making each and every one of his designs work in various ways. Giving them different styles and meanings. I thought that he was a prime example to use for support towards our project, as he has good ideas on how we can distort words.

My favourite piece of his is the ‘Nike’ zoom design, I like how he has emphasized that the trainers have speed forming marks on the concrete. It looks very realistic and I would love to learn how to do that one-day. I want to be able to one day bring my work to life, in the way he does to his.

FEEDBACK

img_0546

Mine and my group feedback from David on the project was quite positive. He mainly spoke about how we needed to be more specfic on what area of Dyslexia we want to campaign for whether it was reading, writing numbers and spelling. Also how we want to present it across. At the moment though, we seem to have a good concept and I hope through the progression of it, the final will turn out well.

Leave a Reply

