Gareth Strange

Gareth Strange is a Graphic Designer and Illustrator.

Strange Love is his web design site.

Experience:

  • Embrace the imperfections.
  • Execution come with time.
  • You could have the best design in the world but if you can’t sell the idea then it could be a complete disaster over all.
  • Find the hidden meaning behind the designs. Noticing the strength, innocence, power and vunerability that the design could be portraying.
  • You have to create your own assessments.
  • Figure out what you should and must do. Whether you should do that design, so comtemplating it or whether it’s a must and designing it with certainty.

Process:

  • “It’s not perfect it will continue to evolve. I will always keep learning.”
  • Always ask the right question, when helping a client.
  • A solid brief, building relationships, gainging insight, presenting your work, follow up and cover yourself.

Advice:

  • Read books- Design is a job and The elements of typographic style.
  • Decide what you want to do- How do you want to be percieved.
  • See everything as an oppurtunity.
  • Take on freelance projects.
  • There’s no such thing as a bad project.
  • Make your own mark and share it.
  • Consider your social presecence.
  • Be positive/ Confident/ Cheeky.
  • Get talking to designers and don’t be afraid of what they’ll say.
  • To not be afraid of your own opinion.
  • Understand what you want to achieve.

 

My Thoughts

I really like this Wanderlust page on the Strangelove website. The images that are shown are very well captured and I love the simplicity of the logos on the front. I find that it really compliments the designs as a whole. I think for them though it would be nice to see some experimentation of type, either going across or somewhere in the corner.

This session was a good chance to remind me, of how the real design world is like outside of university. It reminds me that I have to be confident and not afraid of the obstacles and myself I’ll have to face. This very beneficial for me because it’s slowly preparing me for, when I get an opportunity to do what I enjoy.

Leave a Reply

