Epherma Project

Epherma Designers

These terms below, is what I will need to take into consideration on my next brief, which is Ephermera.

Epherma- Things that are important or useful for only a short time. Items that were not meant to have lasting value. Also collectable items that were originally expected to have only short-term usefulness or popularity.

Layout -Is the careful positioning on a page, in which the parts of something are arranged or laid out. Also make sure there is a balance between positive space and the design elements.

Hierarchy- It emphasizes elements of an organized content. It helps navigate the system by visually controlling the impact of the message, onto the reader.

Grids – A grid is a network of lines. This helps you to layout out elements in a system like a newspaper or document.

I gathered research from a book called ‘Creative review.’ It helped me structure my layout sketches, when planning for my book. It gave me a good perspective of how I could lay out some of my pages, whether I want them to be simple and symmetrical or quite messy and non symmetrical. My favourite page is on the faces on either side of the pages, looking at one another. I find that it’s really effective and would really interest the reader.

 

screen-shot-2016-11-27-at-21-34-48

The designers that I will have to involve within my book are below. I will also have to involve the images shown too:

Sawdust

sawdust_design_interview_01

Sawdust site

This is a link to my Favourite piece of his. I love how simplistic his design is, it’s very complimentary and all the elements of it, tie in well. I also like how he uses a nice suttle tone across the page, this then makes the text more effective, it gives it a gentle flow. I really like the type as well, I would actually love to try it out on some designs that I might do in the future.

 

Veronica fuerte

hey

Veronica Fuerte site

On this site I found some really interesting designs on the front page. It showed a range of designs from post cards, books and products. I could see their work was very modern but also colour making me feel like it had a quirky edge to it. It looked like a modern pop art style, very funky and effective.

Eike König

eike-konig-interview-designboom-01-818x545

Eike Konig site

When I looked through Eike Konig designs I found his work very complicated but intriguing. His designs looked to be as if they were speaking their own kind of language. I felt that they all had well laid out compositions and colours. I think Konig works from lots of different perspectives and I admire that about him.

Morag Myerscough

3_l

Morag Myerscough site

I like Morag Myerscough work she has a very unique style and edge to her work. I like that she’s very forward with her work and I hope to be like that as a designer.

Oded ezer

oded_ezer_interview_01

Oded Ezer site

I really like Oded Ezer work, but found his site very difficult to search around on. Other than that he has a good knowledge of the arts and works with in his style in a very confident way. He’s very expressive with the designs that he makes and you can see that because he creates things that I’ve never seen before.

Felix Pfaffli

felix_potrait

Felix Pfaeffli

Felix Pfaeffli has a very good eye for patterns, he seems to have a good idea with what certain designs go with what. This is a good quality to have because when designing a poster you can have a very creative and expressive outcome of the piece. I think that’s what makes his work so well designed.

 Jessica Walsh

interview-jessica-walsh-sagmeister-walsh-graphic-design-designboom-818

Jessica Walsh

This is one of my favourite pieces of Walshs work because she has a good eye for illusions and manipulating the human eyes. I like this kind of style because it draws people in, causing them to spend time on the piece, working out how to solve the design’s puzzle. Her work is very bold and strong, I like how she portrays that across in her work too.

 

Development of Epherma 

screen-shot-2016-12-03-at-15-15-25

Above is my first initial steps, I did in my sketch book. It was a way of me experimenting with ideas, of how I could do my layout of my book and front cover. I believe the key focus is to work on the type first and then the title and imagery.

screen-shot-2016-12-02-at-10-51-29

Here I practice on photoshop just working with some quick and easy layouts. I thought that I could come from an illustrative approach, by hand drawing the title and placing it on the page as the main focus. However, I felt that it didn’t look very professional and didn’t suit the meaning of the event. Which is why I went with a graphic approach and continued playing around with the other designs.

 

These are a few digital tryouts I did on the front cover, back cover and the pages within. This helped me figure out whether I liked my original ideas or my improvements.

Front Cover: I wanted the front cover to be bold and minimal. I chose to use the imagery on the front so it showed certain angles of the photos. I also chose to use the shape of a circle because I felt that I needed to show a consistent theme to stylise across the book. I began working with a border around the outer edging of the age, but felt that it was too harsh, which is why I split the border and this made it a lot lighter.

Main pages: I began looking at the information that was given to me, to place in the book. I chose the designer with the most information, which was Jessica Walsh. I started with her because the information on her was a lot and I knew that she would be the hardest to lay out in the book. I figured that if I could find a way to work with her, then I would manage to figure out the rest.

Back Cover: I decided to place the logo on the back, as I didn’t like how the text was stretched across the page, which is why it has been placed on the left side of the page.

Type: The type that was used throughout the whole of the book, is Gill sans, regular and Gill sans, semi bold. I found that it was the boldest, yet smallest type that would be good for me to be able to have more flexibility when placing the type on the pages.

 

Trial outs & Feedback

 

screen-shot-2016-12-03-at-16-52-55

screen-shot-2016-12-03-at-16-59-17

Feedback:

In my tutorial me and my lecturer sat down and focused on what improvements I had to achieve, in order to make my book better. He told me what key points I should focus on, which was making the hierarchy more dominate. To do this I had to make the hierarchy more bolder, the subheadings and the initials of the people speaking. He wanted me to add a style to it, he mentioned maybe trying certain pieces of text slanted. I was asked how I would be able to improve on my Jessica Walsh layout. He said it was to clustered, and what would be the solution. I was focusing so much on trying to fit all the designers on their own double page spreads that I missed out on the clear answer that one of the other designers was unable to fill a whole double page spread. Which is why I placed two designers on one double page spread, following on to then Jessica Walsh. I felt that throughout the book it flowed a lot better.

screen-shot-2016-12-09-at-12-49-56

Above are the improvements I’ve made, I wanted to make sure I had the same consistency across the book, but add a circle shape, style throughout it so that it linked in with the front cover of the book which had a circle on it.

When I had my tutorial feedback, I showed the improvements I had made and was told by a different lecture also a student. That having the subheadings on the side wasn’t a direct path for the eye and was too awkward for the reader to read. I had also mentioned how I was struggling to work out the layout of Jessica Walsh and figured she needed three pages. I found that Oded Ezer, and Eike Konig had a very short amount of text, which is why I thought I could collaborate them on the same page. This allowed me to be more flexible with the Jessica Walsh layout.

 

Final Epherma Book

 

 

screen-shot-2016-12-09-at-13-34-09screen-shot-2016-12-09-at-13-34-12screen-shot-2016-12-09-at-13-34-17screen-shot-2016-12-09-at-13-34-20screen-shot-2016-12-09-at-13-34-24screen-shot-2016-12-09-at-13-34-27screen-shot-2016-12-09-at-13-34-31screen-shot-2016-12-09-at-13-34-34screen-shot-2016-12-09-at-13-34-39

 

This is my final outcome of my Epherma book. I’m really happy with the outcome of it, it helped me have a better understanding of layouts, hierarchy and text. I believe my book has potential, it’s consistent, has style and it’s not clustered. It has a nice spacious flow throughout the book. I’m glad I added the circles within the book, as it compliments the front cover. I find that the borders around the edging, defines the pages and gives them a subtle boldness. What I really like is the layout of the influential quotes used for the text, I find that doing that guarantees the reader will read it and when they do it gives them inspiration because of how positive they are. Since then I have found when they read the booklet they get a positive vibe from it.

The improvements that were given to me, I definitely took them into account and tried to rectify my errors. I changed the placing of the text, so it was easy for the reader to have a direct path for the eye. Before with my other booklets I was using a 6-column grid and I felt I couldn’t be as flexible when placing the text. I found that it was looking awkward and wasn’t even enough, which is why I then moved up to a 9 column grid, which allowed me to be able to fit the text more easily and still allow a good amount of space.

What I found most hard about this task was the printing process and the text layout. The text I found quite tricky because now and again I would have a widow word, which is when a lonely word is at the bottom of the paragraph, this isn’t allowed so I had to keep trying to make sure that I wasn’t allowing this to happen. When I was printing, I thought it would be easy, but I was wrong because I had found that once I had printed it, the colouring was off and I kept cutting the wrong pages. I’m glad I did go through the printing process though, because every time I printed off a draft of the book I could then see the errors that I was making and that allowed me then to correct my wrongs. I decided to print my booklet off in blue because my favorite colour is blue and I thought it would look quite nice a bright. However, when printing it, I found that it washed the pages out and didn’t compliment the photos. The colour I should of used was yellow or orange as those colours are more striking and the designers themselves like to use them main colours for their work. I feel that I should of tried to imply that to them and tried to print off the booklet in lots of colours, so that I could get a better understanding of how it could look.

I didn’t add any circles on the back page; I wanted the front and back to be simple, modern and bold. Sharp enough that when readers look at it, straight away, they knew what it was. I chose to put the images on the front because I find that readers can’t always be bothered to read the front page. Sometimes an image is a lot easier to send a message, then in words. I felt it would interest the readers more, to want to then open the book and see what’s inside. Then they would see the creativity through out it.

The process of binding the book, originally I was going to staple it, but felt that it wouldn’t look professional and I wanted to try binding the book that I had learned a couple weeks back. Doing this gave me a chance to improve on my binding book skill and it even made the book have a nice shape and a neat look. Other than that, I’m happy that I got the chance to experiment around with the method and it gave me a great new perspective of how book designing is done.

Leave a Reply

