Inspired by David Hockney

David Hockney’s Research

Bio & His work

screen-shot-2016-11-16-at-19-20-55

David Hockney is an English painter, draughtsman, printmaker, stage designer and photographer. He is considered one of the most influential British artists of the 20th century. I believe that Hockney’s work ethic has a very unique structure and I love the contrast of images he has used. I like that his work shows a sense of realism, it shows the body movement and characteristics within an image. It’s a good technique to use, when you have lots of photos of one outcome and wish to collaborate them all together. Out of these images my favourite one is of the old woman. I like that he has managed to capture the old woman’s face features, just by zooming in on the ear lobe, nose and eyes. You can get a sense of different emotions within each image.

Inspired by David Hockney 

For this new project we were told to get into pairs and design an image in the style of David Hockney. From the information that we gathered, we had to either choose one topic which was on collaboration or another which was on journeys. Me and my partner decided to work with the topic journey, we began taking lots of photos of different objects, sceneries and people. We started off with how people walk down stairs, but felt that we weren’t being creative enough and that lots of other students had the same idea.

We decided to abandon that plan and move to food, we wanted to show the journey and the process of eating food. Below are the different food groups we used to capture images of the process when someone eats away at them. We did the same process of them all in the style of the apple collage below. We were very happy with the outcome of our work, we liked how you can see the changes and movement through each image. However, we were told that we hadn’t read the brief carefully enough, as it had mentioned that we had to involve people. We were disappointed with the feedback that we had received, but we chose to deal with it. Instead of working with food we decided to change our ideas and try something completely different.

 

screen-shot-2016-11-16-at-19-13-43

FINAL OUTCOME

When me and my partner was exploring new ideas for the topic journey, we began thinking about road trips and adventures. We came to the conclusion, that it would look good if I took photos of my partner driving. Doing this, shown the movement in her hands turning the steering wheel, the changing in the scenery and the emotion in the eyes. Below was the process of how we began designing the images. We wanted to select certain areas and slowly start to center them off course. For example, moving the hazard light a little off center from where it was originally placed. Once we were happy with the layouts, we decided to change the colour contrasts of them. When we took the main background base away, we notice how it had slowly started to perform an image, out of all the other little images we had collaborated together. Immediately we thought we could continue adding more images, slowly forming the original in a very unique way.

 

screen-shot-2016-11-16-at-21-07-08

 

With the one below, we wanted to try a different version of our final outcome. This one was designed from a more transparent approach, we felt that it showed the history and movement of the images. Looking at this collage, makes me feel like I’m watching a video in slow motion. I felt we managed to portray that it had life to it. To improve, I would make it bolder and try out more images in the scenic area. I even think that it might of been nice to try out some positive and negative areas, like the final outcome above. Other than that I am very happy with the outcomes and believe that me and my partner managed design it a lot better to the brief, this time around.

 

screen-shot-2016-11-16-at-21-51-05

Feedback

Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 21.00.28

The feedback I got back about this piece was that it would be interesting to see the work from the perspective of an ellipse. I didn’t quite get the understanding of what my lecturer meant by creating the image into an ellipse, however when I made this simple change I could see how stronger the ellipse made the image. Doing this gives an easy visualization of how accurate the shape is to our vision. If I was to go further into this project I would experiment more with the colours, space and the depth of the camera angles.

Leave a Reply

