Monumental Portrait- Inspired by Frida Kahlo

screen-shot-2016-11-04-at-12-34-44

Biography on Frida Kahlo

Frida Kahlo is an Iconic Mexican artist known for her self-portrait paintings. She is also known for her Mexican, feminist and indigenous culture actions. The portraits that Kahlo portrayed, expressed the emotion that she was feeling at the time. When she was young she had a fatal tragedy and had a lot of recovery time. Over this time she started to self teach, within the arts of painting. She began painting portraits and taking photos of herself showing the pain, lust, happiness and despair that she felt. She was known for her bold vibrant colours and the techniques she used. When I was asked to work with portraits on our imagery brief, I came across Frida Kahlo on my research. I thought she was one of the best examples to express how I wanted my designs to look. I plan to try mimic her style in my work, that i’ll be designing.

ce6eeaffbe6c863bd29445fd26cd61c8

This is one of Frida Kahlo’s self-portraits she has done. I have found that she is a very talented painter, I love the rich colours, depth and detail she uses. Her paintings really stand out and especially back around her time, it was something that people hadn’t seen before. What also made her distinctive was her eyebrows and that was how people could distinctively recognize her as. As an artist myself, I would like to be able to change peoples thoughts on the way they see the world and distinctively know who has done it.

Development

 

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-18-48-43

 

For my monumental portrait, I did it in the style of Frida Kahlo. I started off by experimenting around with sections of my original images. I chose those images because Frida Kahlo was a Mexican artist, known for her paintings. She was amazing, eccentric and an Iconic woman that is known around the world. I chose to do a cactus to show the location of where she is from and then I chose to take a photo of an earring as she loved to wear lots of jewellery. Once I was happy with the sections that I had selected, I then began repeating the patterns and forming images within the same sections. The images below are a few examples I came up with.

 

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-18-06-51

screen-shot-2017-01-27-at-13-55-34

 

Final Outcome

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-18-33-33

For my final outcome, I decided to take a photo of my friend dressed up in the style of Freida Kahlo. When I was trying to mimic her, I thought it would be good to show her main features. One of her most prominent features is her unibrow. I respect that she kept her unibrow because in todays society, that kind of mark is classed as ‘ugly.’ However, her belief in the importance of her own thoughts and actions over meet society’s expectations and is certainly something she liked to share. I also made sure I used the flowers, jellewery and big hair as that was features that she loved. I was going to leave the photo in colour, but I felt it didn’t look as good as it did in black and white. To improve I would use a better camera to capture the cactus, as the quality isn’t clear enough.

 

Leave a Reply

