Constellation- How the World is as I expect it

For my constellation lecture, we learnt about how we perceive the world by studying about our mind’s imagination and how our brains construct it. One of the things I found interesting is how our senses are very limited by our body’s abilities. We receive as much information as our body allows and can be received in different ways. Some people can have an involuntary neurological condition called ‘Synaesthesia.’ This is when a human taste sensation can cross over their sight sense when they see a colour. Making the person feel like they can taste the colour. It makes me wonder what kind of world it would be, to have a condition like that, what kind of imagination that a person like that might have.

“There is a mind behind the eye and the ear and the finger tips which guides them in gathering information, and give value and order to the exercise of the senses.” (Jastrow, 1899, p.299) Jastrows, theory of human perception explains that our bodies aren’t just walking robots; each and every part of our being is alive. All our organs work together, gathering different information, making us feel different senses, ideas and movements. It shows our mind and body adapts when we learn new things, this becomes very crucial to our development as humans.

We were told to get into partners and figure out one of Richard Gregory’s theory was about. From what we figured out in his book ‘The intelligent eye.’ is that the brain is expressed like a camera. The eyes are seen as the lens if the camera isn’t turned on, you can’t perceive what you’re seeing. Therefore the brain cannot receive the information being projected. What we’ve learnt is that the brain is the master of perception.

The previous week I was told to draw and an object by feeling it, then observe the object and draw it again. I found the concept unusual because I was trying to feel and imagine what the object was. Whilst I was doing this I didn’t quite comprehend that it brought back childhood memories, from when I used to play Lego as a kid. The more I think about the brain, the more I feel amazed about it. It’s amazing how it gave me flashbacks from my past and it even made me remember and imagine the different styles of Lego.

This week in our lecture, one person was told to look at an image for 2 seconds and then remember it. Then my lecturer would come back around and ask for the same person, to draw what he could remember. Once that person had drawn the image, it would move on to the next person. At the end of the task, I found it amazing how everyone’s outcomes came out so differently. It just showed how certain people’s imagination and mind worked in different ways. These tasks that we do, really test the limits of how each and every one of our senses work.

 

Jastrow, J. (1899) ‘The Mind’s Eye’, Popular Science Monthly, Vol. 54. pp. 299-312.

 

Leave a Reply

