Constellation-Keynotes

This lecture was all about the meanings and depth of an image. For example, how photos can speak a thousand words, how some aren’t all that they seem and basically just analysing the representation and concept of them. The lecture started off studying the Mona Lisa painting, which was painted by Leonardo da Vinci in between 1503 and 1519. It is now located in Paris, in the Louvre.

Biography – Leonardo da Vinci & Info on the Mona Lisa

My own photo of the Mona Lisa

unnamed-2

This is one of the most famous paintings in the world, that millions of people go to just to get a photo. My lecturer spoke about how an image of a painting, photo, design, poster anything art related, isn’t a true visualisation. He also spoke about how people’s thoughts and expectations are too high. For example, I have personally seen the Mona Lisa in Paris and I imagined it to be big, beautiful and peaceful, dominating the room. When I got there it was much smaller than I imagined, it had bullet proof casing, barriers around it and security guards. This made me feel uncomfortable and I felt I had to squint my eyes just to see the detail in the painting. It didn’t stop there because not only was I trying to get a photo, there were hundreds of people trying to do the same thing. Bringing it back to what my lecturer said about the realisation of the image. Not only did I get a lovely image of the Mona Lisa, I had to deal with all the drama that went along with it. If someone looked at the photo, they wouldn’t know what I had to do just to get that one photo.

I liked this lecture because it gives you a good realisation of everything that is around us and how some mysteries aren’t solved and that everything has a hidden meaning. This makes me look forward to what else I could be learning within my constellation courses.

Leave a Reply

